Be a part of your OCRA
Join or Renew
Career Opportunities
& Marketplace
OCRA Enhanced
Referral Service

2022 Karoscik Realtime Contest Champion

Lin Riffle, RDR, CRR, CRC

Realtime Contests Web

2022 Karoscik Realtime Contest

Overall Results 

1st place
Lin Riffle
2nd place
Jane Proud
3rd place
Tammy McGhee


2022 Karoscik Realtime Contest Individual Leg Results

Literary - 200 words per minute

Lin Riffle

- 11

98.9 %

Jane Proud


98 %

Tammy McGhee


96.8 %


Testimony (Q&A) - 225 words per minute

Lin Riffle

- 44

96.08 %

Realtime Contest Rules 

NEXT CONTEST:  2023 OCRA Annual Conference, Friday, March 24, 2023

Five minute tests will be dictated as follows: 
Literary: 200 words per minute 
Q&A: 225 words per minute 

Any writer of shorthand who is a member of OCRA in good standing and who has attained at least NCRA RPR or CRC status. 

Contestants must give to the committee satisfactory assurance that they have not received, directly or indirectly, any remuneration or promise of remuneration of whatever character for entering or winning any part of this contest. 

Please register on the Annual Conference registration form. The fee is $50 if paid by registration deadline. Fee to be paid prior to contest. (Discounted combo registration available when registering for both the Realtime Contest and Hagestrom Cup Speed Contest.)

The defending champion, if present, will have their choice of seats. Subsequent seating shall be at the discretion of the chief examiner of the Realtime Contest. 

Only one transcription will be permitted of each leg. 95% and higher qualifies. In order to qualify, contestant must write realtime into a computer and, without editing, at the direction of a testing monitor, create an ASCII/text file. Those unable to produce such a file within five minutes of such request may be disqualified at the discretion of the contest chair. After verification of the file, the contestant will be required to delete all components of the file, including any audio, from hard drive and recycle bin.

Realtime may be in either ALL CAPS or mixed case. Two-voice testimony can be transcribed in either Q&A format, colloquy, or by using chevrons or some other new speaker designation as long as the change of speaker is clearly obvious. Neither the Q or A will be counted nor read. Punctuation errors will apply irrespective of speaker format. No transcript will be eligible for consideration with less than 95% accuracy. 

Winners and qualifiers will be announced during the Annual Conference. A trophy will be awarded for first place, medals will be awarded for second and third place, and an appropriate certificate to those who attain 95% or higher. The contest committee will publish/announce only names of qualifying contestants. 

In order for a member to be granted 0.25 PDC for a speed or realtime contest, OCRA must receive preapproval from NCRA. NCRA will grant credit for these contests so long as they meet the published criteria for the speed and realtime contests held at the most recent NCRA Conference & Expo. A maximum of 1.0 credit from all non-CEU credits will be accepted by NCRA per three-year cycle. 

The decisions of the committee made under these rules, or such supplementary rules as may be found necessary at the time of the contest, shall be final. 

All submitted files become the property of OCRA and will not be available for participant review.  Submitted USB flash drives will be returned back to the contestant.

Contestants will not be permitted to be present during the grading process. Transcripts will be marked for identification and corrected in such a manner that it will be impossible to know whose work is being examined until after the grading has been completed.

Determination of what is an error shall be determined by the current "What Is An Error?" guidelines of NCRA.  

Two-voice Testimony can be transcribed as: (all are acceptable, no points off) 
Q. Where do you live? 
A. Columbus, Ohio. 
MS. SMITH: Where do you live? 
MS. JONES: Columbus, Ohio. 
>> Reporter: Where do you live? 
>> Witness: Columbus, Ohio.

Past Realtime Contest Winners

2002 Donna Karoscik
2003 Donna Karoscik
2004 Donna Karoscik - Retired 
2005 Heidi Geizer 
2006 Lisa Conley 
2007 Jacquie Gutierrez 
2008 Jacquie Gutierrez 
2009 Heidi Geizer 
2010 Sara Clark 
2011 Lin Riffle 
2012 Sue Trischan 
2013 Kristin Wegryn
2014 Sara Clark
2015 Lahana DuFour
2016 B. Lynn Els
2017 Lance Boardman
2018 Lisa Conley Yungblut
2019 Jane Proud
2020 no conference/contests held
2021 Lisa Conley Yungblut - Retired
2022 Lin Riffle